Girls Go Tech

I’ll admit it. I’m a wannabe geek. 

Yes, I’ve started a blog but I’m still one of those people that just doesn’t get it when it comes to tech. I know where the application comes in, but in terms of actually creating the technology, I’d be lost.  Point being, I’ve never been one of those people that just naturally clicks with technology.

But I’m most definitely not the only one. Most of my girlfriends would have no idea how to actually fix their computer but nor do they have any interest in doing so. (Note: Great for those IT guys out there;)

As I had mentioned in another previous post, I’m not into math either.  I always excelled in it (which brings me back to the damn education system) but it doesn’t click naturally. I don’t need to go into detail on it because there’s enough literature out there on gender differences when it comes to natural abilities and interests.

This needs to change though.  We need more women geeks. I’m not saying hey everyone, let’s have equal job opportunities, because I get it: the pool for women engineers etc. is not as big.  

But what can we do now? For all you moms and dads out there with daughters, start thinking about engaging them at a young age. What inspired me to write this post was an ad I saw for girlsgotech.org.  Let’s get girls interested in math, science and tech. We need it. 

2 thoughts on “Girls Go Tech

  1. Jay Godse says:

    Most girls take the lead from their mothers for their attitudes toward thinking and getting stuff done. How many mothers would lead their girls into math or engineering, even if they were engineers? I’m not talking about just telling them to go to engineering or math, but showing the curiousity-driven approach to solving problems, using math tools to figure things out, engaging in banter (in front of or with girls) about ideas premised on some math or technology thing, or mentally adding up numbers in front of the girls as a part of solving some household problem (e.g. painting, buying stuff, calculating mileage, etc). More often than not, it is probably the (probably) more math-literate father that does these kinds of thing if anybody does them at all.

    For me, the leadership in a disciplined approach to math & science came from my dad. He was a scientist through & through, and his approach to learning new things and doing old ones showed it. My mom, as she ran our household, set the example of trying to get the best of every resource, (food, money, time), and in sharing resources between various tasks to help complete all of these tasks more effectively. That spiked my interest in resource optimization and workflow cost reduction. Those mindsets from my parents helped lead me to engineering.

    If this principle continues through to my kids, I think I’ll end up with kids in careers that combine teacher, manager, and comedian.

  2. […] denominator of intelligence? Why are they being so easy on us? Why aren’t we forced to do more math and science? As you can tell….I’m quite passionate about […]

Leave a Reply

