Open-doors in winter… not so welcoming

Why oh why do storekeepers choose to leave the door open on cold days? I saw this in Stockholm, I saw this in Milan, I saw this in France, I saw this here in Finland, and in Canada I know they do it too.

PLEASE. For god’s sakes, you’re wasting enormous amounts of energy by blasting the heating to counter the cold air that’s coming in. And the same goes summer – open doors in air conditioned places while +40?

Honestly, I know that a door open means “Welcome!” but seriously, I think I should start boycotting those places out of their own stupidity.

3 thoughts on “Open-doors in winter… not so welcoming

  1. Jay Godse says:

    Hi Jane.

    I think that you answered your own question. If open doors drive traffic to the store, which in turn drives profitable sales, then the open door and consequent wasted heat is actually an investment in the business.

    It’s like a web retailer paying Google for an AdSense campaign to drive traffic to its web site. The conversions to real sales are often well worth the expense of the ad campaign. To wit…Google uses an awful lot of energy to power its computers to enable AdSense to work.

    Let’s look at another view. Let’s suppose that 9 out of 10 stores keep their doors open. They get the traffic and sales. That drives the one with the doors closed out of business, which means that there is one less store to heat. That is actually an environmental saving.

    Store owners are smart. They are acting in their own interests. Maybe there is a better way to attract traffic such as visual cues, signage, specials, etc. I would bet though that the cost of those is often not vastly different from just leaving the door open.

    Cheers, Jay

  2. janeporter says:

    I still disagree. A sign outside works quite well. I see it as I’m approaching (more than a see glass door) – they can even put an arrow saying “We’re open!” for that matter.

    But do they really think that the shoppers are so dense that if a door isn’t open we don’t feel welcome into a store? Or that we assume that it’s closed, even on a Saturday afternoon?

    And above all that, as a shopper, it’s a nuisance… I hate having the door open because – especially in winter, i can still feel the cold air. I go inside to escape the cold. i hate having to wear a coat inside while shopping for clothes – it’s a pain for trying things on. I often ask the shopkeeper (who often has a scarf on…) to shut the door. So, as for sales… if it’s at all a discomfort – there could also be a loss in sales, which could possibly offset any profit from sales when the door is open.

    but in any event, glad to have the comments back:)

    cheers and hyvää viikonloppua! (have a good weekend)

    jane

  3. Jay Godse says:

    I don’t doubt any of what you say. I would just argue that if you added all the business cases of all the businesses together, it works out in favour of the open doors.

Leave a Reply

