Eat your veggies

As the old saying goes… you should “walk the walk if you’re going to talk the talk”.

The more you know, the more likely you’ll start paying attention to your “walk”.

I can’t say that I’m a perfect green consumer though. (Umm..who is?) I love clothes and yes, I still shop at H&M… I don’t always buy organic and I still love to travel. So, feel free call me a hypocrite now;)

But I am starting to change some of my old patterns… slowly, but its coming.

Starting with the new year, I gave up buying meat.

For anyone that knows me, you’d probably know that I love a good thick med-rare bbq steak, and bacon is a staple for any good breakfast.

Although there are plenty of reasons for people going vegetarian (animal rights etc.), the clincher for me was reading about its environmental impact (big surprise eh?)

Fast facts:

· the livestock sector generates more greenhouse gas emissions as measured in CO2 equivalent – 18 percent – than transport.

· A meat-based diet requires 7 times more land than a plant-based diet.

· Food scarcity: cost of grains are soaring and we feed that to animals so that we can eat meat

_44483116_habits_resources_416.gif

Google it and you’ll be amazed at the toll it has on society and the environment.

But, notice that I said I only gave up buying it.

I can’t do it. There’s no way I can go home this summer and not enjoy my Dad’s fabulously bbq’d steak.

So, it’s a slow start but it’s a start. I’ll still eat meat at restaurants or at people’s houses, but I just gave up cooking it myself. I’m surprised at how easy it is too. It’s not cold turkey (haha, no pun intended) and it makes grocery shopping easier.

Something small… but still has a positive impact – on this world and for my health🙂


Tagged , ,

14 thoughts on “Eat your veggies

  1. mattroberts says:

    Alberta beef is tastier than Finnish beef anyways 😉

  2. vegca says:

    Thanks Jane for making a difference. There are many compelling environmental reasons to go vegetarian or eat less meat.

    To make it easy for people we have a Veggie Challenge: Go meat-free for one week and receive an email per day for seven days. Each message includes meal suggestions, recipes, nutrition information and tips. You could even win some prizes! Check out http://www.veggiechallenge.com

    If you stick with it, your taste buds may change. Which isn’t a bad thing. See FAQ: Do I need to cut out meat entirely? http://veg.ca/content/view/534/110/

    [Alright if we post a story at veg.ca about this inspiring blog post? With a link to you of course.]

  3. OmPay says:

    I ‘m so appresiate

  4. janeporter says:

    The Veg.ca post on this post.
    http://veg.ca/content/view/544/111/

    Take the challenge:)

    If you’re in ottawa, head over to Wild Oat in the Glebe or Herb and Spice in Westboro… ahh…my two favourite neighbourhoods. How I miss you! Didn’t go there nearly enough when I lived there, but I’ll be seeing them more often this summer.

    For now, I’m quite happy with my ruisleipä (Finnish rye bread)

  5. Romina says:

    Cutting out meat, or just eating less of it is one of the best things anyone can do for the environment. Whatever little you can do is better than nothing at all. I do hope that one day you can give up meat, but for now, I’m happy to hear you’ve opened your eyes to the effects of overconsumption. =)

  6. Trent says:

    You can’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good.

    I tried going vegetarian with my wife a few months ago. (Technically, “pescatarian” as we ate fish.)

    At first it was easy, but eventually, I started to be hungry all the time.

    Also, I kept finding myself eating a lot of fish and shrimp every time we went out for dinner with friends. The problem with this is that our decision was made with health in mind and I have real concerns with mercury in fish.

    So in the end I decided to be 90% vegetarian. We never buy meat to cook. I still order vegetarian burritos, veg indian, tofu with my chinese and vegetables on my pizza. I choose falafel over a turkey sandwich for lunch.

    If I am craving meat and just need to order that turkey sandwich, I just do it. And it’s usually only once a month.

    In the end, I eat 95% less meat and am all the more healthy for it. So what if I am not a “real” vegetarian?

  7. janeporter says:

    i completely agree… and i would say i’m only at about 60-70% vegetarian right now.

    i’ll follow your example though. sounds good… but i
    ll replace that turkey sandwich with the occasional bbq:)

  8. Cat says:

    good on ya porter! i’ve been vegetarian for almost a year now…it’ll grow on you so stick it out!
    also, something you might be interested in…we’ve got a 100km diet trend spreading out west. so, if you can give meat up all together, vote with your dollars! local and free range/non-intensively reared meat is far better for the environment and definitely more humane.
    good luck babe! hit me up for veggie recipes! i’m a seasoned pro haha.
    xo
    cat

  9. janeporter says:

    Cat! So good to hear from ya:)

    If you’re home this summer perhaps we should do a vegetarian grill nite?

    Let’s talk soon hun!

  10. Veggie says:

    Great post! The environmental impact was a big factor in my decision to go veg as well.

  11. […] 14, 2008 · No Comments I wrote part 1 last week and was quite happy with the feedback, along with landing on the veg.ca  blog the […]

  12. Hi Jane

    In response to this article, http://veg.ca/content/view/544/111/ Congratulations on quiting meat!

    I quit “cold turkey” Jan this year. Haven’t ate dead animals since! Have not craved it or gave it a second thought since.

    PETA’s 30 day challenge was inspirational to me. Although I diden’t physically “sign it” it was enough for me to realism that I could start right away.

    besides humanitarian reasons, for me, it was “truth”.

    I mean, how can we “love animals” but on the other hand, eat them?

    or worst, how can make the distinctions between edible and not edible?

    eg we slaughter cows but horses are like our buddies.

    yet in India, the cow is sacred, but other parts of the world eat dogs?

    its “ok” to see a mutilated dead chicken in our fridge, but it wouldn’t be acceptable to see say for example, a mutilated dead squirrel in our fridge I started to queston, “who makes up these rules anyway?”

    Then I realised that its partly “tradition” but also hugley influenced by the large corporations that will ahve us beleive that we “need” toeat animals with their catchy phrases like “you deserve a break today” etc…

    .. and they “rename things to make them more palateble! like “Big Mac” or Whopper or Nugget — Why dont they just come out and say “Dead Cow” or “parts of dead chicken”

    doesnt that sound insane?…..

    “yep, I’ll have two dead cow patties and some fries to go!”

    “.. can I interest you in some dead chicken parts? today you get two broken off legs and some wings for the price of one.”

    it just doesn’t make sense to me.

    then when you add in the factor that there ARE alternatives, there is no reason why we need to be slaughtering millions of animals per year.

    best, Phil

  13. janeporter says:

    Hilarious.

    Thanks for the comment Phil, I agree with you.

    I needed the laugh too;)

    cheers,

    Jane

  14. […] 7, 2008 · No Comments For a girl who loves her veggies, I’m all about the “low-hanging fruit” (def. here for int’ls).  So yes, […]

Leave a Reply

