Canadian Federal Election: debating and voting and pondering…

THE BALLOT

I cast my ballot today – 10€ express post…. Stood there wanting to spend 0.80€ (for regular mail) and thought twice – Jane, your vote is worth 10€.

Anyways, seeing as the election debate was almost a week ago, I only watched it a couple days ago so this is very late news but newsworthy on this blog nonetheless 😉

THE DEBATE:

May was awesome. Favourite line – “You should really read the OECD report – that’s a good read.” I’m so happy that the Greens are moving up. And on a similar note, I was happy that May & Dion (and Layton?) brought up other countries – I think it’s important to benchmark and see where other nations are – i.e. previous post on how we’re practically last on the list when it comes to the environment.

Seeing as I’m a pro-environment person, it was good for me to sit and watch the other discussions. As for the economy, Harper would probably do the best job, but he’s not saying anything substantial besides the fact that he would do the best job – HOW? Finally, a platform came out after, but it’s not enough. This credit crunch is/will affect us and he’s ho humming about it. As for Layton’s attack on the corporate tax rates – I haven’t paid attention to it too much, but I know that if we want a strong Canada in a global world, we need to bring investment here – having a low corporate tax rate is important for our competitiveness. So, although I agree with Layton on certain things (thanks for bringing up the First Nations!) – the answer to all of our problems isn’t just about cutting the corporate tax rate.

As for the “are the manufacturing jobs gone for good” question – I almost agree with Harper on that – economies shift, job losses must equal job creation but not necessarily in the same sector. So, I agree with supporting some industries (in sustainable ways that supports the communities) but I disagree with keeping jobs for the sake of keeping the same jobs open. We need to invest in high value added (as will be a post soon on Thunder Bay’s biofuel industry). However, that being said, most of the candidates were of the same opinion I believe. The key point is that the new jobs cannot be in the low wage, low value jobs.

I won’t continue… I have work to do. Canadian politics can be pretty boring and yappy and so at first I thought that the American debate would be better since they didn’t cut into each other  – like our politicians do incessantly like school children. BUT.. to be honest, it was kind of refreshing. THEY DEBATED, unlike Palin & Biden;) They could lessen the finger jabbing though and personal attacks, that gets old fast…

MY CONFUSED THOUGHTS…

I just voted, and I’m still happy with who I voted for, but for an election that I put quite the effort into understanding all of the issues, I still don’t get it all.

It seems as though I’m in the midst of regaining my “what’s right in the world” view.

I agree with free markets and international trade but I also agree that we should support the local economy for sustainability & community sake.

I agree with economic growth but I know that growth can’t be the end answer – that’s what’s led us into this credit crunch disaster – we all want more that we’re capable of having.

Meh, it’s late. I can ponder this tomorrow 😉

Tagged ,

3 thoughts on “Canadian Federal Election: debating and voting and pondering…

  1. James says:

    There have been a lot of people in my daily encounters that have told me (because I asked) who they are voting for. This is a good thing – people voting. When I asked them “why that person?” though, the responses were very disheartening: they liked the colour of the sign; they agree with one commercial they saw against Stephen Harper and picked another candidate at random; they don’t like Dion’s accent. I think it’s one thing to have a vote and to care about your country’s well-being, but it’s another to have an educated vote – to vote based on the issues at hand, not the colour of a party’s sign.

    My biggest issue with the debate was that it was 70% picking apart what Harper hasn’t done, 10% about nothing and 20% about what each party is going to do. How about hearing what YOUR party has to say on issues? How about telling people what YOU’RE about instead of trying to knock the opposition down a peg? I have a bit more respect for people that have something to say and are trying to get votes by saying what they can do, not what the other guy can’t. I agree with Jack Layton that yes, families are concerned with the economy and losing their jobs – HOWEVER – I don’t believe that dumping money into failing sectors of the economy is a way to fix that. I agree with Harper on bringing in a new breed of jobs. What’s the point of spending millions on jobs where there’s no demand? Logging and pulp/paper is a huge part of our industries – but the demand is declining steadily. I’m not saying eliminate those jobs altogether, but rather spend at least half of the effort trying to advance our country by creating jobs that have a demand. Case in point – ICR (cancer research) and Regenerative Medicine in Thunder Bay are doing phenomenally well – new contracts, many more jobs. It is especially important to not rely on our crutches of logging / pulp & paper at this point because a lot of the market for that is… guess who? The U.S. – last I checked, things aren’t going so well across the border. We can’t rely on these sectors to get our country by. I completely respect Elizabeth May for what she had to say – she held her own – but in the grand scheme of things I feel that her efforts would be too narrowly focused.
    Dion? No offense to Dion, but it seemed as though he talked himself in circles and was on the fence about a lot of issues.

    A book caught my eye about 2 years ago – I JUST started reading it (terrible, I know) – it’s called ‘The Collapse of Globalism’. It’s about how the global economy as a whole is still separated by nations and how free trade on a large scale won’t become a probability in the near future. Interesting read. It has a lot to say about where our economy is at and possibly where it’s going.

    rant..rant..rant..

    Great to see people voting at least, just look past the colours and see what they stand for.

    By the way Jane, is that a smiley face in the top right corner?

  2. janeporter says:

    Ahhh… James. You should start a blog. Great points.

    Yes, completely agree. A friend of mine just told me yesterday that he didn’t like my last post on “Don’t Vote”. He said that he thought it’s not enough to just vote… you need to understand the issues. Definitely, and point taken.

    As for beating down on each other, true, we need to hear more about what they WOULD DO. Although we can’t take out all of the rebuttals as then i wouldn’t hear the opposition – and hear the ‘un’truths come forth. But, I find that they oppose just to oppose… like, hey, that’s a great idea, but my job as opposition is to hate your every move.. so, screw what’s right for Canada, YOU’RE WRONG!

    We would make fine candidates James. Ahem, that was a joke.. there is no politician in this lady;)

  3. James says:

    I was thinking about it, I’m just not sure if I could justify starting a blog. I just started a new job and my days are pretty consumed… we’ll see.

    I can agree with your friend, but moreso the point of the video I’d say was to at least gain interest. If people are interested in voting and the topics at hand, maybe they will do some reading and have an educated opinion. It’s a start at least!

    And you’re right, I think we’re too diplomatic for becoming politicians! 🙂

Leave a Reply

