Twittering and Obama

I don’t like how i’m not blogging as much anymore… and the thing is, I still have plenty of thoughts, but just not enough time to put them together, research, and form a “good” blog.  But I kind of like having my blog as that outlet of longer stories.

But, for the many thought bubbles that come into my head, you can follow me on Twitter. at http://twitter.com/janeporter (this time I actually may stay on for more than one tweet!)

Ahh, my audience on this blog varies a lot (I know my mom will be like, you’re what?? where??) … so to explain twitter, it’s like micro-blogging – I do quick one sentence messages on this other site where you can follow me. Read here on wiki. Perhaps this is more for the geek readers, but no worries, I’ll still be blogging – and hopefully more so than I have been recently!

In other news… YEAH OBAMA!!!

I of course watched his inauguration and have to say that I feel like we will be turning a corner:)

Jay wanted me to comment on this and I have to say that I’m a bit disappointed in myself for not really understanding his underlying policies – I’ve joined the crowd of listening to his wondrous rhetoric.

So long as we don’t become blind to this though – Still need to keep a watchful eye of what’s really going on. Remember how Bush blinded everyone by fear? People could be in the position to be blinded again, this time by hope…. words need to be met with actions.

Transparency is key though and looks like he’s starting on the right path.

And let’s not forget that he’s still just a man… people make mistakes and he won’t change everyone’s lives. Watch South Park’s episode, aired the night he was elected for a hilarious take on this:)

But I think the dark cloud over the States has been lifted. No more will I feel compelled to say, while in public somewhere abroad…  “Well, in CANADA… or, as a CANADIAN”- god forbid anyone think that this North American accent came south of the border or else the inevitable -” what do you think of George Bush?” would arise.

All in all, the future of where the power lies in Nations will be interesting to watch.

4 thoughts on “Twittering and Obama

  1. Ritva says:

    I wholeheartedly agree that the cloud has been lifted, but it isn’t totally gone. The wounds left to be healed are pretty deep. On election day, and again on Tuesday, I saw an optimism (accompanied by realism) that I have not seen in the States before though (was I too young to notice??). It’s a huge step in the right direction – here’s hoping for the best!

  2. Hendrik says:

    Don’t really know about twitter. Seems interesting, but hell, who’s really interested in that sort of stuff? How do you have time to read and tweet? I’m intrigued, but can’t really see the benefit of it yet – maybe cuz there’s not yet a critical mass in Finland, as the benefit of twitter is definitely only given when your friends use it as well.

    Obama on the other hand is great. I’m convinced that his policies will establish a trend that will be followed in the rest of the world – with a lag of five to ten years. Damn, I hate the German Chancellor, wish she wouldn’t be re-elected this year. We need an Obama in Germany and Finland!

  3. janeporter says:

    Yep, don’t quite know that many people on twitter and it’s not always intersting.. but the point is WHO you meet on twitter.

    as a young person wanting to better understand and get connected with the startup world – twitter is definitely a good place to be 🙂

  4. Hendrik says:

    Sure, there are some start-ups who use twitter (see a post on that here, if you haven’t: http://www.startupbin.com/2009/01/12/finnish-companies-using-twitter/ ) though I am still not convinced of the benefits. Yes, I can speak their language by using twitter, and show that I know what’s the latest trend, but what else? Am I missing something? I’m really curious, so feel free to enlighten me 😉

Leave a Reply

